Disable Concurrent Logins

Article author
Duncan Hamra

This article will how you how prevent members from logging in to the same account with the same credentials.

Understanding the Default Setting

By default, concurrent logins are possible. That means multiple users can enter the same email and password and stay logged-in at the same time. In some circumstances (e.g. a team of remote workers), concurrent logins might be a desirable setting. It all depends on your needs, but the good news is you can enable and disable that setting as required. Here's how.

Preventing Concurrent Logins

  1. Go to your Memberstack dashboard.
  2. Click Settings on the side menu.
  3. Scroll down to the Other heading.
  4. Switch on the Disable concurrent logins toggle.

a-1.png

A popup window displays.

  1. Read the terms (it lets you know that all logged-in users will be logged out if you proceed).
  2. Check the box to proceed.
  3. Click Confirm.
  4. Click Save on the next page.

a-2.png

  • Note To enable concurrent logins, switch off the toggle and click Save.

 

The Result

Let's say User A logs in to an account.

  • Ten minutes later, User B logs in to the same account with the same ID and password.
  • Memberstack automatically logs out User A.
  • Ten minutes later, User A logs in with the same credentials.
  • Memberstack automatically logs out User B.

The most recent login instance is active. The older login instance is logged out.

That's it.

Now you know how to enable and disable concurrent logins.

 

Was this article helpful?

Comments

10 comments

  • Comment author
    PieBlc12

    You are amazing guys ❤

    1
  • Comment author
    Duncan Hamra

    Thanks PieBlc12 😊

    0
  • Comment author
    William de Broucker

    Hello, 

    If two people are connected on the same IP, do they get disconnected ? 

    Thanks

    1
  • Comment author
    Duncan Hamra
    • Edited

    William de Broucker I checked with Tyler and he says:

    "If they are logged in with two different emails on the same IP address they won’t be disconnected.

    If two people are logged in with the same email, whoever logged in first will be disconnected.

    1
  • Comment author
    William de Broucker

    Thanks ! I'm using a lot of iframe in my website so i'm afraid that will create a disconnection 😵‍💫

    1
  • Comment author
    RR l
    • Edited

    If a same people logged in with the same email but different browser, the first browser will be disconnected?

    0
  • Comment author
    Duncan Hamra

    Yup! The first browser would be disconnected. 

    0
  • Comment author
    William de Broucker

    Hello Duncan-Hamra,

    Can this feature be limited only to heavy users ? (I could flag them manually with a custom field if needed)

    Thanks 

    0
  • Comment author
    Duncan Hamra
    • Edited

    William de Broucker That's not a native option yet, but that is an interesting feature request. 

    I wonder if this could be achieve via custom code... imagine a code snippet which saves the most recent X login attempts to JSON. The details here would be up to you but here's an example... if all 10 logins happened in the last 5 minutes then you could automatically log them out. And display a message which says "Too many login attempts. Please wait 5 minutes before trying again."

    And if you want to limit this to just a few users you can only run the script if they have a particular plan or have a certain custom field set to TRUE, for example. 

    1
  • Comment author
    William de Broucker

    Yes that would be great ! cc. Raquel Lopez

    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.