Cancellation Settings (Immediate vs PeriodEnd)

Article author
Duncan Hamra

When a member cancels a plan, Stripe displays a default message. It says customers can continue to access the plan until the end of the billing period. This article will show you how to change that message and cancel access immediately.

Alternatively, you can choose to hide the Cancel plan button and require members to contact you instead. 

Default Message

The default cancellation message looks something like this. The screenshot below reminds the customer that they can access the plan until March 21.

a-1.png

Enable Immediate Cancellation

To cancel access immediately, change the default setting.

  1. Navigate to Stripe Settings in your dashboard and scroll down the page.
  2. Switch on the Cancel subscriptions immediately toggle.
  3. Click Save.

a-2.png

The message on the new cancellation page will now show a different UI.

a-3.png

Now, when a member clicks the Cancel plan button:

  • The Billing page shows invoices (if any) related to the cancelled plan.

a-5.png

 

That's all.

Now you know how to change Stripe's cancellation setting on the customer Billing page.

Was this article helpful?

Comments

1 comment

  • Comment author
    Arne Verschoor
    • Edited

    Hi Duncan-Hamra. I've been playing with this setting and trying to get my scenario to work but can't quite get it to work. If a customer wants to cancel or downgrade a plan I want Stripe to end the subscription at period_end. However, if a customer upgrades plans I want the change to go in effect immediately. Do you know if this is possible? Thanks in advance!

    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.