Disconnect/Switch Stripe Accounts

Article author
Duncan from Memberstack

Here's what to do if you've connected the wrong Stripe account and need to connect a new Stripe account.

If you haven't created any paid plans or prices:

Head on over to the Stripe page on your dashboard, and click Disconnect.

If you have any paying members or created any paid plans/prices:

We suggest creating a new App in Memberstack and connect your new Stripe account.

This is because Memberstack requires all paid plans to have a Stripe product in a connected Stripe account. Any products or members will break because they are in the stripe account that got disconnected. 

If you have to use the same Memberstack app you will need to follow the steps below to disconnect stripe and connect a new one. The Stripe page will show a disconnect button once all the steps have been done.

To avoid these issues you'll need to:

  1. Delete all paying members which will result in their subscriptions being canceled.

  2. Delete all paid plans because they are associated with your old Stripe account.

  3. Once steps 1 and 2 are done click the disconnect button on the Stripe Settings page here.

  4. Connect your new Stripe account.

  5. Add paid plans back so the new Stripe account will be updated.

  6. Have your previous paying members sign up again.

If you have followed all the above steps and still do not see a disconnect button on the Stripe page within your Memberstack app please create a support request here.

Was this article helpful?

Comments

2 comments

  • Comment author
    Joao Filipe

    I have a questions regarding the following steps:

    1. Delete all paying members which will result in their subscriptions being canceled.

    2. Delete all paid plans because they are associated with your old Stripe account.

     

    All paying members should be deleted on the stripe account or the memberstack account?

    All paid plans should be deleted on the memberstack account, right?

    0
  • Comment author
    Duncan from Memberstack

    1. Correct. You should delete the paying members in Memberstack. 
    2. Yup! You should delete the paid plans in Memberstack too. 

    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.