Enable Add-Ons & Increasing the user's plan price Answered

Post author
Andrés Esquivel

Hi, I have some question regarding the Stripe integration:

  1. Is there a way that we can enable Add-Ons in the checkout flow without affecting user access?
  2. If in the future, I want to change the price of the plan I have users subscribed to, will that affect anything in Memberstack? Let’s say I have 500 users already in a plan, and I just want to update the plan moving forward to be 50% more expensive, what are the implications?

Comments

5 comments

  • Comment author
    Shadi null

    #2 is something I myself am quite concerned about too. As it stands, if you archive a price, the plan will still renew on the users next billing cycle so they can technically choose to ignore your new prices. I would love to be able to have an email blasted out or a pop up banner (like Spotify does when they increase prices) where you have 1 month to click “I agree” and pay the extra 1€, or ignore it and have your plan automatically cancelled when the pre-defined date is passed

    0
  • Comment author
    Duncan Hamra
    1. No add-ons/upsells yet. We hope to enable this the future, but no ETA.
    2. You will need to create a new price for the plan. Existing members will remain on the old price.

    Shadi null I see what you mean.

    I think we’d need to build a bulk price update feature so you don’t have to upgrade them 1 by 1.

    That said, so long as the plan was created by Memberstack then you use the Stripe API to bulk update customers subscriptions. I have not done it myself, but I don’t see why that wouldn’t work.

    0
  • Comment author
    Shadi null

    Duncan Hamra 100% a bulk price update would be FANTASTIC, but there should be an "Opt In" element to it (so users can choose if they want to stay subscribed or cancel because of the increased price).

    Currently the only options we really have as no coders is to find the customers individually on the stripe dashboard, and change their plans 1 by 1 (remember you have to type your password for each user you change the plan pricing for).

    I think a system that automates this headache could be priceless from a developer standpoint, and from a user standpoint as suddenly they actually have a choice (stay or leave depending on the new pricing)

    I also find the whole stripe interface for changing plans quite cumbersome

    0
  • Comment author
    Andrés Esquivel

    Duncan Hamra if we create a new plan, can we manually change the plan of the users on the old plan to the new one? Or are they permanently stuck with the old plan?

    0
  • Comment author
    Shadi null

    Andrés Esquivel My screenshot above is where you would go to manually change the users plan to a new one. It will take effect after the current billing cycle, but it is rather cumbersome as the user page reverts to page 1 after every plan change takes effect, and you have to type your entire stripe password in for every user's plan you change.
    All in all, it can take days or weeks if you have lots of users to do this for.

    Under your stripe dashboard go to customers -> (Click on your customer of choice) -> under subscriptions -> Update Subscription -> Products -> Add product -> Delete Product (old subscription) -> Save -> Insert password -> Go back to customers panel (sends you to page 1) and repeat

    0

Please sign in to leave a comment.